top of page

Vanessa Marquez: A Vivid Voice with a Meaningful Resonance




By Robert T. Wood

Vanessa Marquez


One of the hallmarks of Vanessa Marquez’s array of cinematic, televised, and theatrical performances was her unique, unmistakable, and unforgettable voice. Her voice could convey either profound pathos or deliver quips and witticisms with gravitas and aplomb. But the impression left on viewers by her youthful voice and appearance belies the maturity and wisdom that she demonstrated in her work as an activist. Various writings and videos reveal that she was dedicated to resolving a variety of social injustices and inequities, many of which persist to this very day.

On March 6, 2012, Vanessa Marquez published a post on her Tumblr blog Like Bad Penny, which contained the following words:

“In my case, I knew I was going to be an actor from the moment I came out of the womb. Well, certainly after I saw THE WIZARD OF OZ for the first time at the age of 3 or 4. But, when STAR WARS came out I remember thinking, “I’ve got to get busy!” And, at the age of 8, as I sat in my grandmother’s patio in El Sereno, I remember getting up, grabbing a pen and paper and writing my first letter to Paramount Studios saying, in part, “My name is Vanessa Marquez and I am 8 years old and an actress and I am ready to audition for any parts you feel that I’m right for.” The offers didn’t exactly pour in. It would be another 6 years before I started working “professionally.” Acting was always a part of my future. But, STAR WARS definitely made my dreams go from just, DREAMS, to reality. I wrote letter after letter, many of them to George Lucas. I had a drive that most 8 years old don’t have; a knowledge that this was just who I was born to be. But no matter how sure one is inspiration is always needed. Because, as we all know, there is always someone or many someones who try to tell us that we’re silly for dreaming such dreams. “It’s never going to happen.” “Get a real job.” Sometimes, there is more criticism than support. It was during those times that STAR WARS, and very old black and white films, made me realize that I was right and they were wrong and I’d go back to writing my letters. By the time I was 18, I was co-starring in my first film and watching it at a the premiere at the gorgeous, historic Grauman’s Chinese Theater in Hollywood.”

Throughout her career she portrayed a nearly immeasurable range of compelling characters. One was the beguiling, brilliant Ana Delgado in her debut film, Stand and Deliver, the true story of Jaime Escalante.

Andy Garcia and Vanessa Marquez in “Stand and Deliver”


The casting director for the film, Toni Livingston-Hix, explained how Vanessa Marquez became involved in the production in a segment of Lydia Nicole’s Common Sense Mamita published on October 9, 2017:




“Somebody answered an ad from a paper, she sent me her high school senior picture and a letter stating that she thought she was Ana. And that was Vanessa, and I saw that picture and she looked twelve. I said, oh my goodness, and she’s a senior. So I brought her in and the rest was history on that girl, she just, she just knew what to do, she was Ana…”

In a time period in which Latino actors and actresses were frequently resigned, consigned to, and confined to one-dimensional parts and roles rooted in hoary stereotypes and riddled with demeaning messages, the character of Ana Delgado stood out as someone who everyone, not only Latinas, not only young women, but everyone could relate to. Vanessa Marquez’s performance ensured that Ana was someone that everyone could identify with, everyone could root for, and everyone could look to for inspiration. Her role in the film was as a supporting player but was integral to the strength of the movie’s message. Every student should be given a chance to succeed and should never be viewed as incapable of learning. With the help of a dedicated individual in their lives, students can surmount the stereotypes and expectations that society might have of them on account of their heritage or socioeconomic background.

Vanessa Marquez in Culture Clash comedy sketch


Stand and Deliver led to further opportunities for Vanessa Marquez to showcase her various creative abilities. She acted alongside Patrick Swayze in the film Father Hood. As a cast member of FOX’s Culture Clash sketch comedy series, she performed in a multitude of skits that satirized the stereotypes of Latinos as portrayed by the media. One notable sketch demonstrating Vanessa Marquez’s singing talent and comedic timing was “West Side Story: 35 Years Later”. In an upload to YouTube channel TheVanesssamarquez featuring some of her Culture Clash roles, she wrote: “Tony and Maria- What could have been…”

In the article “MAKING A DIFFERENCE : Theater as a Stage for Learning” published by the Los Angeles Times on August 8, 1994, she described the effect that a program introducing high school students to theater had on her when she was a student:

“It was the first time I saw professional actors on stage, and it changed my life. I was 16. The program exposed me not only to going to the theater, it got me to read a lot more–especially plays. I wanted to know more about playwrights and playwrighting and the history of theater. Their productions use non-traditional casting. When you see someone else on stage who’s black or Asian or Latino or handicapped you see that the door has been opened for them, and it can be opened to you.”

In 1998, Vanessa Marquez would pay it forward to another generation of students. As documented by Lynne Heffley’s March 5, 1998 article in the Los Angeles Times, she would star in the lead role in a theatrical production for middle school students through the Mark Taper Forum’s P.L.A.Y. (Performing for Los Angeles Youth). The play, entitled The Square Root of Terrible, was designed to educate middle school students about mathematical concepts, the perils of peer pressure, and the challenges facing female students who are gifted and interested in mathematics.

The January 1990 issue of Food and Justice, a publication produced by the United Farm Workers offers a glimpse into her efforts to improve the lives of those struggling in the fields. The UFW’s leaders Cesar Chavez and Dolores Huerta were leading a boycott of table grapes in protesting the perilous use of pesticides that posed health hazards to both workers and consumers. On December 7, 1989, Vanessa Marquez joined Chavez, Huerta, actor Martin Sheen, and hundreds of other activists in Los Angeles in a rally and subsequent march.


Food and Justice quotes Marquez:




”I’m boycotting grapes and I’m telling all of my friends.” Marquez said she would “let people know about the problem, just as Cesar Chavez has done.” Referring to the farm workers, she concluded, “I thank you very much for saving our lives.”

The humility, grace, and gratitude that Vanessa Marquez expressed would come through in her later writings about many other subjects. In the Like Bad Penny post titled “For Casey Kasem” from June 17, 2014, she recalled her participation in an event dating back to March 1991:

“Way back in March 1991, I was asked to be part of a show called Artist’s for Peace. The Gulf War had just ended and everyone was asked to sing, perform, whatever they wanted. I really had nothing to offer. They said it could be anything. A year or so before I’d written a poem called “Dear Father.” A poem about all the things my Father had missed of my life because he’d been killed in Vietnam. I asked if I could recite that and I was booked.”

“Through my peripheral vision, I could see Ron Kovic’s wheelchair get closer to the stage as if to hold me up. We had become good friends over the past few months; protesting at the Federal Building every single Saturday. He told me, I too was a Veteran, when we first met and encouraged me to speak at these rallies. I finished the poem but ran off the stage right into Ron’s arms.”

“I felt Ron’s energy on one side of me. Singer Danny Peck saying “C’mon Baby. You can do it.” from the middle of the audience. And I sensed the presence of Mr. Kasem to my left. Holding me up. It is one of my most cherished memories. The night Mr. Casey Kasem said my name. MY name! ME. This skinny kid from the Eastside. And, for just a few moments, helped me to Reach for the Stars. Bless you for that dear sir and for all the great music. Goodnight Mr. Kasem ?”

Vanessa Marquez also lent her voice and her presence to the cause of voting as one of the 108 Latinas featured in a public service announcement entitled LatinA Vote 1994. Directed, produced, and created by Julie Carmen, the PSA won a CLIO Award celebrating achievements in advertising.

Around the turn of the 21st century, Marquez appeared in fewer cinematic, stage, and television productions. Some creative professionals simply fade from the limelight, never to be seen or heard from again. Vanessa Marquez was not one of them. Through her more recent works, her resonant voice persisted.

On February 26, 2010, Vanessa Marquez published a video on YouTube, explaining that the real-life Jaime Escalante needed money for cancer treatment. Marquez made media appearances and lead and co-lead events with the public seeking to raise funds for the beloved teacher. In her words on YouTube:

“It is time that we step up and give back to him. He deserves this. He deserves a chance.”

Marquez remained committed to giving back to the man whose story began her story in the world of film and television.

The passing of Vanessa Marquez on August 30, 2018 at the age of 49 was devastating. It was an indisputably tragic loss of a human being who had accomplished so much in her life. For those who knew her personally and those who only know her from her creative contributions, she will be missed. Through her performances, her writings, and her advocacy, her voice will be forever heard.




In a Like Bad Penny entry published on February 29, 2012, Marquez wrote:

Any film that not only allows you to dream, but LIVE the dream, is worthy of every accolade. Thirty something years later, the body may be weak but the heart and mind and soul are just as inspired perhaps even more so. You see, for some of us, it’s not just a movie. It’s become a way of life, a way of thinking, living and dealing with the world around us in the most hopeful, inspired and spiritual of ways.” — Vanessa Marquez

Sign up for LatinHeat’s E-Newsletter, it’s free! CLICK HERE

Commenti


bottom of page