top of page

TV Guide Network’s docu-series “Tequila Sisters” Not Just Another Show About Sexy Latinas


TEQUILA SISTERS - TVGN

By: Christina Rosas Anastasiou in New York

The TV debut of the original docu-soap or series titled, Tequila Sisters, premieres December 10th on the TV Guide Network. The series revolves around the Marin Sisters, who were born and raised in Orange County. Sisters Lauren, Cat, Jackie and Jen are completely independent with different viewpoints from their traditional Mexican parents. Unlike the stereotypes of some shows where Latinos are viewed a certain way; the Marin’s will show a side of Latinos that traditional America has overlooked. I caught up with the Marin sisters, to give us their thoughts on the show.

LH: How are you feeling about the show airing in a few weeks? Are you nervous?

Cat: I’m scared, but also, excited. I don’t know if I can handle seeing myself on TV. I am my worst critic.

Jen: It has not hit me yet. I really don’t know what to expect.

Lauren: I’m more excited than nervous. We put our heart and soul into this show and to finally see it air, is going to be an amazing feeling!

Jackie: I am so nervous and so anxious to see the show. We haven’t seen much of the final cuts, so we will be just as surprised as our viewers!

LH: You’re making me nervous! Tell me how the show came about?

Cat, Jen, Lauren: Jackie actually met our now producer, Ryan at a party a few years ago. He reached out to her about two years ago and asked if we wanted to set a meeting to discuss a reality series.

LH: And here you are two years later! The show is based on your family and its Mexican traditions. Do you feel this show will give you a chance to demystify the generalization of Mexicans or Latinos living in the States?

Cat: Yes! I think people will realize we are all ordinary people.

Jen: Yes! I think it’s a great chance to show that Latinos can break the stereotypes.

Lauren: Of course! And I think it will be a great opportunity for our viewers who aren’t Mexican American to learn and experience how we were raised.

Jackie: The typical generalization of Mexicans living in America that I’ve noticed, are qualities such as strong, loyal, caring and very hard working. And I do believe you will see that on our show.

LH: Are you excited about coming into the spotlight at such a pivotal moment when Latinas are taking over entertainment?

Cat: Yes! It’s about time.Viva Mexico!

Jen: Absolutely. There couldn’t be a better time for the show to come out.

Lauren: It really is such an exciting time in our lives and to see how the whole experience will play out is so exciting!

Jackie: Extremely excited! I would be so honored to be mentioned amongst some of the great Latinos who have made such a huge impact in the entertainment industry.

LH: As sisters, you’re driven and ambitious, do you ever get a dose of competition? Jen is the outspoken one and the oldest, what would you say you admire about her as an older sister?

Cat: Jen being the oldest sister, really it’s her ups and downs. She has good intentions for us. She is really protective and it’s like having three parents.

Lauren: We have never really been competitive with each other. We are each other’s biggest fans and you can really see that quality in Jen.

Jackie: Only a healthy dose of competitiveness! Jen is definitely a strong person and a go-getter, just like my dad. She doesn’t quit until she has what she needs or wants. I think that’s a great quality. She’s definitely a good role model.

LH: Can you tell me about your future plans that you have and what you expect from the show?

Cat: My future goals are to start a successful swimwear line. I would love for our Tequila Estileto to be a house hold name. And many more business opportunities with my sisters!

Lauren: I really enjoy acting. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do since I was a little girl. I hope that with this show, it will open a lot of doors for me.

Jen: I am currently revamping a dog leash line that I created for my two Yorkies. In the future, I plan to have a complete clothing and accessories line for women and dogs.

Jackie: I do want it to be a huge success. I would be extremely happy if this show helped me get my foot in the door for a career in music. Singing is my passion.

LH: What words of wisdom do you have for Latinas who want to have it all?

Cat, Lauren, Jen, Jackie: Dream Big! Always stay positive and don’t take no for an answer.

LH: Are you currently involved with any charities? If you aren’t, what charities or organizations do you want to be involved in?

Cat, Lauren, Jen Jackie: We are involved with The Boys and Girls Club of East LA. We hope to become more and more involved with other charities as well.

The show premieres, Tuesday, December 10, at 8:00 PM ET/PT on the TV Guide Network. Follow the Tequila Sisters on Twitter

On Instagram: Tequila_Sisters

Comments


bottom of page