top of page

Ivana de Maria is Enigmatic Antagonist on Univision’s Hit Series, “La Bella Y Las Bestias”

The Mexican actress/writer/producer is fascinating in her lead role in the hottest telenovelas currently invading U.S.A. airwaves

By Elia Esparza

Ivana de Maria’s story is the stuff of Hollywood. She is a member of one of Mexico’s most powerful and influential media dynasties. Her great uncle, “El Tigre” as he was called is Emilio Azcarraga Milmo, the hard-driving billionaire who built his family’s television and radio network into the largest media empire in the Spanish-speaking world. Ivana’s mother is an accomplished businesswoman and philanthropist who runs various foundations and companies. Ivana inherited her family’s business savvy and El Tigre’s famous white streak of hair. And, from these powerful genes and DNA mix, comes her ability to being a natural born storyteller.

Ivana de Maria, PC: Paul Smith


Meet Ivana de Maria Moreno-Valle Diez Barroso, one of the new young up-and-coming breakthrough cross-over talents in film and television in the U.S. not only is she a gifted actress, she is also a prolific writer, producer, and director. Currently, you see her in Univision’s action crime series, La Bella y Las Bestias (Beauty and the Beasts), daily on Univision, 9PM/8C.

Prep educated in Switzerland and a graduate from Boston University, earning a degree in Finance and Law, Ivana headed back to Mexico determined to make a success out of her acting career. She had fulfilled her education objectives and now it was time to focus on her passion in performance arts. Living in Los Angeles, Ivana was disappointed by the American casting system, she soon realized the void in quality English-language content for diverse actors was sorely lacking.

Equipped with her business know-how, she jumped all in to go beyond just acting. If she’s to succeed, she would have to produce, write and direct projects, and she is accomplishing her professional goals.

Latin Heat caught up with the Ivana and she graciously opened up sharing her career, bits of her personal life, and insights on how labor-intensive it is working on a telenovela series.

Latin Heat: You are part of a prominent Mexican media dynasty, how did your parents respond to you wanting to pursue a career in acting/filmmaking?

Ivana de Maria: Like any parent, they were worried because it is a career that is challenging and has a lot of instability– economically, physically, emotionally in every sense of the word– it is draining. it’s not easy for any parent to process their children putting themselves through this, however if you’re passionate about it, there is really nothing anyone can do to stopping you. My mom has always been a big advocate of pursuing one’s passion and turning that passion into profit rather than the other way around. Equipped with my business education, I felt confident in my pursuit of acting and filmmaking. My mom’s generation all stepped away from performance arts, even though the family business was in television and radio. My generation, all the grandkids went into film or TV. My brother Isaac, my cousins from my mom’s side, all four of them are writers, producers, actors. At the end of the day, you can’t run away from what your gut tells you to do. Having my siblings and cousins, and family around me has been a gift. They’re there to help guide me whenever I need anything. It’s a tough industry.

LH: We ask because it was understood that the Azcarraga’s were all about the business and not all that gleeful to see their own in front of the camera.

IDM: The elders still don’t really like it but I studied finance and law and before starting college, I told my mom that I wanted to go into acting. My mom saw how happy it made me and she liked the content I was creating, so once I had completed my studies, she felt more at ease. She knew I was jumping into the vicious entertainment industry (especially for women) equipped with a top business education. My business ability helps me as an actress and most especially when producing.

Mon. to Fri., 9PM, Univision


LH: Now for your current gig. What in your opinion, makes La Bella y Las Bestias, one of the best telenovelas ever produced by Univision/Televisa?

IDM: First of all, this hybrid that [they’ve] created is a story that takes many risks. It’s not a narco series for one thing. Yes, there is violence, but unlike a traditional telenovela, ours talks about political power and corruption, which is usually not a topic in storylines. In La Bella, the use of martial arts is spectacular, and all around, it is very different story. At times most telenovela filmmakers don’t trust the audience enough to take risks. In our series, there are two strong, confident and determined women fighting martial arts, who are not dressed in sexy clothes. Our characters are realistic, there is more depth, and they represent real people, not caricatures.

LH: Working on a Spanish-language telenovela is much more grueling/harder than working on an English-language series… what was the most challenging for you as an actor?

IDM: The most difficult thing with Spanish-language telenovelas and TV shows, is the number of episodes taped. Most telenovelas consist of 80 one-hour episodes that are shot in different locations… it is a lot of work.  When my American friends ask about the dozens of episodes, it is mind-blowing. You shoot all day and night. Hard labor. There are days that are slower but then again, there are days when a total of 30 scenes will be shot in one day. It is crazy! The amount of work and the multiple changes happening constantly… the formats are so different… not just for the actors but for everyone involved with the production. It is insane sometimes.

LatinHeat: Is this the first time you portray an antagonist? Is it harder to play the mean girl versus the protagonist??

Ivana de Maria: It is not the first time I play an antagonist but it is by far my favorite thing to play! It is not necessarily ‘harder’ but it definitely offers a wider range for potential growth as an actor. And, as a person, it forces you to explore perspectives and points of view that are usually seen as ‘bad’ or ‘controversial.’

LH: Was the part of ‘Marcia’ written for you or did you have to audition for the part? How does the audition process in Mexico differ from that of Hollywood’s?


IDM: Marcia was written as we were shooting. I auditioned for many characters in the series and then I got the call saying that I would be interpreting ‘Marcia,’ one of the beasts– a 17-year old who is surrounded mostly by men. At first, they sent me a couple of episodes but as the character evolved, her role grew as we were shooting, the episodes were being written simultaneously. The audition process differs greatly in Mexico from that of the U.S. For starters, in Mexico, you have much more direct contact with casting directors, where as here in Hollywood, it is mostly done through your reps.

LH: La Bella Y La Bestias is already a hit, is this your first major role in a telenovela??

IDM: It has been a great success and I am thrilled! Not my first time working on a telenovela, I was also in La Piloto, but in a smaller role. But because portraying Marcia is a much more intensive role, I guess in many ways, it is my first time.

LH: You have a role in the indie film, The Best People, a romantic comedy that has done well in the film festival circuit, gaining recognition and awards, is it harder as an actor to work in comedy than? drama? 

IDM: I never thought of myself as a funny actor and yet I’ve realized that I enjoy comedy and that the results are very positive. I’ve realized that the best comedy requires a lot of seriousness on the actor’s behalf. It is a situation that’s funny but as an actor you have to be committed to the seriousness of your character. The ambience on set is definitely more relaxed and humorous during a romantic comedy shoot, but the character work you do as an actor is the same intensity, just a different approach.

LH: We understand that aside from acting, you have impressive credits as a storyteller and producer. Do you see yourself eventually wearing a filmmaker hat more than just acting? Or are they both equally important to you?

IDM: They are both equally important to me. I love telling great stories and in my mind telling these stories involves being a part of the entire process. From writing to producing to acting and taking all the way to seeing it on screen. I sometimes join projects only on the producing side, and some only as an actor, but ideally,

I love to be a part of every part of the process… the feeling is incomparable. It’s the magic of storytelling through film and TV.” — Ivana de Maria

LH: How does working behind the scenes as a filmmaker and storyteller, help your acting?

IDM: It helps me so much. For starters, I think it is important for any actor to understand the world behind the camera. You don’t have to know how to do it but you must understand the process behind every step because in the end, it’s teamwork that brings a story to life. We have to work together. It’s harder to work efficiently in a team if you don’t know what other team members are in charge of.

Likewise, knowing the producing side lets you understand the complexity of it all. As an actor, you might be frustrated or inpatient at times, but when you understand the production side you are able to empathize more with the process.? Also vice versa, I think that it is equally as important for behind-the-scenes crew to understand the acting process and respect it.

LH: Tell us about the project Couples Therapy, a Spanish-language movie you’re currently developing. I understand you’re also co-writing, how did the inspiration or this topic come about?

IDM: CouplesTherapy is a feature film currently in development. I am writing and producing, and acting along side of Mexican actor, Arap Bethke. He has been the greatest writing partner, who also just happens to be my boyfriend. The idea came about in conversations, we started with character development of a couple that we wanted to portray. We knew we wanted to explore Mexican culture and geography, and somehow ended up with this great story.

LH:  You’re creating the app, StoryPlace, which sounds like a writers’ dream! How hard has it been to create this project into a reality? What are the plans for the big launch and reveal of app?

IDM: Storyplace has been an interesting journey. I had the idea for about a year and a half, and I thought it was so easy to make an app. Turns out it REALLY isn’t! But it’s been a great learning curve  and the results are great. It’s been tough to learn how the tech world works, but I have had a lot of great mentors along the way. The launch with be end of August/early September and we will start with a soft launch followed by a big event in October!

LH: You are involved in many charity organizations, helping orphan girls and empowering women, you remind me of Meghan Markle, how important is it to you that you’re able to balance your career with your philanthropy work? 

IDM: Thank you! It is very important for me, but rather than balance, I would love for them to merge! I think that the best way to help others is by using your passion in ways that help and inspire. For example, having a public voice as an actor gives me the opportunity/responsibility to speaking up for what I believe in. As a filmmaker, I tell stories that I believe must be told. With my app I hope to connect people through stories and thus create EMPATHY, which is what the world now needs the most. I am a true believer in giving back and in teaching by example.

LH: Is there any personal message you want to share with our readers… many who are working in the industry going through all the usual struggles… Any wisdom?

IDM: ?Because I love listening to people’s stories, I invite people to follow me on social media and to write to me! I always answer. The best advice I could offer to anyone is to create their own content, we live in an era where it is possible and so the power is in the hands of the creative. Take advantage of that!

LH: What do you say to American Latinas who want to work in Spanish-language telenovelas?

IDM: Spanish language telenovelas are HARD work! Don’t be fooled, it is very hard, labor-intensive, very demanding and there is a lot of instability. If it’s what you truly love, pursue it! But make sure you do it for the right reasons. Latinas have been told they are inferior so many times that we start believing it, but it’s NOT true! It is actually the most powerful demographic in the U.S.! So own your power.

Follow Ivana de Maria on social media: Instagram

Ivana de Maria was born in San Diego but raised in Mexico. As an actress she has appeared in recurring roles in the TV series Mr. Avila (HBO Latin America), Descontrol (Univision) and La Piloto (Univision/Televisa). As a writer and producer, she is attracted to telling stories about women transcending to her personal life and charity work. In Mexico, she works with orphan girls at Casa Hogar Graciela Zubirsn, she also co-founded Dalia Empower, and in the U.S., Ivana is a member of Visionary Women, and a board member of Qualities of Life, which provides basic financial education to Hispanic immigrants.

Comments


bottom of page