top of page

Golden Globes Sets a New Standard For Awards Shows


Bel Hernandez

Golden Globe Nominee Sofia Vergara

Golden Globe Nominee Sofia Vergara


Where Diversity, Great writing, Surprise Guests, Smart & Funny Hosts Reigned

Last night’s Golden Globe Awards have set the new standard for awards shows to follow or run the risk of become irrelevant   The Hollywood Foreign Press Association is always pushing the envelope i.e. Ricky Gervais, only this time the push is in the right direction,  and will mark the new direction in award shows.

When the Golden Globes announced that Tina Fey and Amy Poehler were going to be hosting the show, I had a feeling I was going like what I saw.  Indeed, the two funny ladies did not disappoint!  From their opening speech when they shocked audience members with their comment of Kathern Bigalow’s marraige to Cameron to Poehlers quip “Wow, what an exciting special guest! That was Hillary Clinton’s husband!”

Jennifer Lopez

Jennifer Lopez


Reflecting the world we live in, the Golden Globe nominees included a diverse list of Blacks, Latinos (Sofia Vergara for  Best Actress in Modern Family; Louie C.K. for Best Actor in Louie), Indian and Other Than Ethnic (OTE).  However is was on the presenter side where Latinos were highlighted.  Staring off with Antonio “Tony” Mendez (Mr. “I don’t consider myself Hispanic”, but you are because your father immigrated from Mexico) the CIA operative played by Ben Affleck in Argo, who introduced the film in the Best Picture category.  Then the bevy of beautiful Latinas presenters began with Rosario Dawson, Eva Longoria, Salma Hayek, Jennifer Lopez and Jessica Alba.

It was diversity on parade and the beginning a New Age age in diversity (fingers crossed).  It can no longer be black and white.  It’s a multicultural world and that is what the Golden Globes represented this year – a major step in the right direction, and has set the bar for  awards shows to come.  It will be interesting to see  if they will follow their lead or stay behind in the stone age.

The COOList …

Kate Hudson

Kate Hudson


Nicole Kidman

Nicole Kidman


Trend – Cut out gowns, showing lots of skin in their designer gowns: Nicole Kidman (Alexander McQueen), Kate Hudson, Jennifer Lopez (Zuhair Murad) , Eva Longoria (Emilio Pucci), and Jessica Alba (Oscar de La Renta)

Wow factor:  Nicole Kidman and Kate Hudson take top honors in the peek-a-boo fashion trend both wearing Alexander McQueen….my new favorite designer.

The new TV Darling:  Step aside Modern Family, 30 Rock and all you other popular comedies there is a new “Girls” in town, and not only did Lena Dunham take home the Best Comedy Actress award, the show won best comedy.  Although Lena looked so uncomfortable in her dress and obviously her feet were hurting what must have been some very high heels (for a minute I thought she was going to fall over) she is the new TV comedy darling – and I am watching that show (on Sundays on HBO)

The highlights:

Former President Clinton’s surprise appearance to intro the film Lincoln for his friend Steven Spielberg.  Standing ovation, of course!!

Jody Foster’s acceptance speech:  It was funny, touching and had audience members crying.  Some of the highlights:

On thanking the people throughout the years:  “But, you know, more than anyone else, I share my most special memories with members of the crew.

On coming out:  “So while I’m here being all confessional… So, a declaration that I’m a little nervous about but maybe not quite as nervous as my publicist right now, huh Jennifer? But I’m just going to put it out there, right? Loud and proud, right? So I’m going to need your support on this. I am single. Yes I am, I am single….I already did my coming out about a thousand years ago back in the Stone Age.”


A very emotional message to her Mom:  “Evelyn. Mom, I know you’re inside those blue eyes somewhere and that there are so many things that you won’t understand tonight.”

“But this is the only important one to take in: I love you, I love you, I love you

Kommentare


bottom of page