top of page

Gina Rodriguez: History Making Golden Globe Award Winner


Thank you God for Making me an artist. Thank you to my mom and my dad for telling me to dream big and to never stop dreaming. To my siblings, to my sisters Evelise and Rebecca for being the biggest role models in my life. This award is so much more than myself. It represents a culture that wants to see themselves as heroes. My father used to tell me to say every morning, ‘Today’s going to be a great day. I can and I will.’ Well, Dad, today’s going to be a great day. I can and I did.”                                                                                                                     — Gina Rodriguez

With those words Gina Rodriguez made history yesterday at the Golden Globes as she accepted her Best Actress in a Television Series – Musical or Comedy award from the Hollywood Foreign Press for her role in Jane the Virgin;  this is the first time in history that a CW show has every been nominated, (Jane the Virgin was nominated for Television Series – Musical or Comedy) let alone have the star win a the Golden Globe!

Prior to the Golden Globes, the CW had announced that Jane the Virgin would be returning for a second season, with their Golden Globe win they must have partying up a storm. However, the reaction to Gina’s win from Latinos in Hollywood is unprecedented and overwhelming.   No other Latino/a winninga Golden Globe has had such an impact as that of Gina Rodriguez’s, because in addition to her win Gina takes every opportunity to always represent her under-represented Latino community.  From press interviews to her acceptance speeches (yes we are confident there will be more), she is never shy about speaking on behalf of her community.


It is no wonder that twitter was a-blaze with love and congratulatory wishes from Latino celebrities, working actors and fans across the nation.  To get a sense of the pride this community feels for Gina, we selected a few of the comments below:




Yes!! So proud of @HereIsGina for winning Golden Globe for Best Actress! #LatinaPride #Represent #BestSpeech http://www.whosay.com/l/PJd9ZD2


Proud of my girl hereisgina for winning her award! Way to go… #JaneTheVirgen #LatinaPower http://instagram.com/p/xvKZdUyMGX/




Tears of pride & happiness! CONGRATS my dear @HereIsGina for your Golden Globe!!! You are yet one more example of our blossoming community!





My 2nd favorite moment of tonight. (1st being @HereIsGina‘s win). @KatieQLowes #NYUbuds #scandal #brooklyn99

Comedian Ernie G. Gritzewsky put it best







Wow! Wow! & Wow!! I don’t think people realize how HUGE it is that a LATINA, from Chicago, a Boricua, BEAT OUT Lena Dunham (HBO’s Girls), Edie Falco (Sopranos, Nurse Jackie), Julia Louis Dreyfus (Seinfeld, Veep) & Taylor Schilling (Orange is the New Black) for BEST ACTRESS in a TV Series Comedy!! Way to go ?#?GinaRodriguez?!! THIS is a HUGE Night for ALL LATINOS Everywhere!! And like Gina said in her acceptance speech, “This Award is so much more than myself, it represents a Culture that wants to see themselves as Heroes!” Gina Rodriguez YOU ARE OUR HERO, and we Love You!! Here is her acceptance speech, in case you missed it!! (It begins about 1:20 into this clip) ?#?JanetheVirgin? ?#?GinaIsOurHero??#?LatinasRepresenting?!!

コメント


bottom of page