top of page

Gilbert Saldivar’s Performance Ignites Sun’s “SHINE”

Actor/Dancer Gilbert  Saldivar has danced with the best of them– Christina Aguilera to Jennifer Lopez and he’s performed on several Super Bowl Halftime shows with Janet Jackson, Madonna, Katy Perry, Maria Carey, Rihanna, and Usher.

He’s taken the stage with the Latin artists, Luis Fonsi, Daddy Yankee, Maluma, Ricky Martin, Paulina Rubio, Marc Anthony, CNCO and Pitbull.


He is also an actor. A tremendous talent, co-stars in the indie, SHINE Nationwide Release — October 5, 2018

By Elia Esparza

There’s a new film in the horizon that is sure to get viewers jumping out of their seats and take to the streets to dance, celebrate life, community and to protest when necessary! We’re talking about Forgiven Films and Anthony Nardolillo‘s SHINE, which opens on October 5, 2018. Not since the 1980’s Fame, has there been such excitement about a drama that includes music, dance and performances by some of the most iconic salsa and Puerto Rican artists of our generation.

SHINE stars Dexter’s David Zayas, Orange is the New Black‘s Alysia Reiner, and world-renowned dancers Gilbert Saldivar and Jorge “Ataca” Burgos.


The story revolves around two brothers (Saldivar and Burgos), once celebrated Salsa dancers, who are separated after the tragic death of their father Ramon (Zayas), only to be reunited years later on opposing sides of gentrification of their beloved Spanish Harlem community.

All of SHINE‘s cast gave exceptional performances, but one stand-out is Gilbert Saldivar, whose portrayal as Junior caught our attention thinking of all of those who have been dealt a tragic blow and ended up in a wheelchair, forced to give up passions and careers that required the use of their limbs. You can’t dance, if you can’t walk, or so we believe. Gilbert was gracious to make time for this interview to impact and break stereotypes against the handicapped and share his views on the pain of gentrification.

LH: Gilbert, we understand you’re in Ireland working, thank you for speaking to us. Your character, “Junior,” is a wounded and bitter soul, why was it so hard for him to forgive his brother for “running away,” after the dad’s death?

Gilbert Saldivar: I relate so much with Junior. He is an emotional warrior. It is difficult for him to forgive for reasons he doesn’t even understand. Without “Pop” the grand plan was gone, as was the pride of “El Barrio,” and my brother chose to runaway, leaving me alone with this great loss.

SHINE Set: Director Antony Nardolillo standing, Gilbert Saldivar playing dominos


LH: An accident renders you a paraplegic in one flash of a second– how difficult was it to portray Junior now trapped in a wheel chair, never again able to dance nor walk?

GS:Definitely the hardest thing I’ve ever had to do as an actor. I recall the days we were shooting the wheel chair and hospital scenes, and I would actually wake up in the mornings and frantically check on my legs. It got so real for me at times. I’ve been a dancer since I was five years old and been blessed to turn it into a profession. Losing the ability to walk in this film made me appreciate all of my blessings. I have the utmost respect for anyone dealing with any handicap or health issues.

SHINE Set: Jorge Burgos pushing Gilbert Saldivar in wheel chair


LH:What was it like working along side of Jorge Burgos?

GS: I couldn’t have asked for a better brother. Jorge had never acted before. He’s a world renowned Bachata star in the Salsa scene and came into this movie unaware of the challenges of playing his role. I have to say, it was impressive and inspiring what he achieved. More than that, Jorge and I lived together during the New York shoot. We actually became brothers in the process. I hope he doesn’t mind me talking about this but, Jorge’s real brother was in a terrible accident a few years ago. He explained that experience to me and we used it in the film. The first day of shooting was the hospital scene, and it was so real for Jorge because he had already lived through this. I’m so lucky to be a part of it with him.


LH: The choreography is fantastic! Who takes the credit for all of those that amazing dance scene toward the end?

GS: Anthony [Nardolillo] gets the credit for bringing together so many spectacular dancers as well some of the world’s best choreographers in the Salsa scene. This scene has numbers choreographed by Charlie Garcia, Grisela Ponce, Osmar Perrones and Andy “Lyric” Cruz. Andy was also Director of Choreography and overall all of the numbers. All were shot in one day! That is unheard, but Anthony and Andy did a great job. Pedro Avila, director of photography, and Jose Omar Hernandez, dance camera operator, made sure to capture the dancers beautifully. There is nothing like experiencing some of the world’s strongest Salsa dancers in one room. It was astounding. I can’t wait for everyone to see the movie.

LH: We’ve seen you act on East Los High and Dexter, and you’re one talented man. And, as a dancer, there is no doubt you’re one of the best, tell us about your professional dancing and acting career.


GS: Thank you for the compliment. I’ve been blessed to tour the world with Christina Aguilera and Jennifer Lopez. I’ve performed on several Super Bowl Halftime shows, and I’ve also been able to work with most of the top Latin artist of this decade. I took an interest in acting when I landed a role in Stomp the Yard. I was the “Cholo” that kills Chris Brown in the first 15 minutes of the film. I always have a laugh when I say that. Interestingly enough, I met Anthony [Nardolillo], on the set of Stomp the Yard. Dexter and East Los High are projects that came about when I was not dancing. SHINE is my first lead role in a film.

LH: Did dancing those incredible dance scenes come easy to you?

GS: Just because I’m a professional dancer doesn’t mean it was easy to learn all of SHINE‘s unique choreography. I had choreographer Charlie Garcia train me every step of the way… literally. Charlie is one of the most charismatic and powerful performers I’ve ever seen. I tried to emulate him. He pushed me to find my own style. Obviously, my dance background helped a great deal but it was important for me to perform this material as authentic as possible. I have a new found love for the Salsa community.

Gilbert Saldivar as Junior, learns performing is art even if it’s from a chair.


LH: Your thoughts on gentrification?

GS: Alysia Reiner says it best in the movie: ‘We all know that gentrification is a dirty word.’ I think it’s important to understand how difficult it is for people to be forced out of their communities without being provided opportunities to benefit from the changes. We are living in a moment in society in which compassion is ignored. That is why I believe people are speaking up and fighting back. I’m excited for everyone to see our movie… it is time to SHINE!  Total pun intended, [Laughs]

I believe inclusion and compassion together would greatly help in the gentrification process.” –Gilbert Saldivar

Gilbert Saldivar on TheTRENDTalk show


SHINE is a Forgiven Films, a division of GVN Releasing movie.

Follow Gilbert Saldivar on Social Media: Twitter @gilbertsaldivar

For more info on SHINE, CLICK HERE

Sign up for LatinHeat’s E-Newsletter, it’s free! CLICK HERE

Comments


bottom of page