top of page

Francisco Graciano: The Talented “Very Latino” Dancer


Francisco.Graciano.FredCo.590

By Cris Franco

The artistically vigorous Francisco Graciano of the world famous Paul Taylor Dance Company, stole away from the company’s rehearsals for its much anticipated Los Angeles tour to discuss his culture, his career and his cherished father.

CRIS FRANCO (CF):  Why do you think your fans refer to you as a very “Latino” dancer?

FRANCISCO GRACIANO: (chuckling) I’m very athletic and I’m told that I do project a little more machismo than the average guy, especially in roles that require more masculinity. But honestly, when I’m dancing, I’m not thinking, “Do I look macho?”  I’m concentrating on expressing the choreography.  Nothing else.

CF:  Your father was a great influence on your life, right?

FG:  Yes.  He was a U.S. born Mexican-American and we lived in San Antonio where he immersed my sister and I in the Mexican culture; always educating us in the customs, dance and history. Perhaps that’s why I see myself as Latino.  Mom is from Michigan; if I’d grown up there, I might not have that perception.

CF:  And how did you get started your early training?

FG:  My dad.  He was in a fatal car accident a few years ago and it’s he who got me into dance.  When I was nine we were watching PBS and Evelyn Cisneros was dancing a pas de deux, and what her male partner was doing seemed superhuman.  I vividly recall saying aloud, “I want to do that!”  My dad answered, “You need ballet for that.”  So my parents researched and found me a dance studio.  It’s amazing that my very Latino father, who changed his name from “Ricardo” to “Richard” because in his neighborhood being Mexican placed you on society’s lowest rung, dropped all his cultural notions and enrolled me in ballet.  And he was a “Mexican” Mexican who wouldn’t wear shorts because it’s considered childlike.  To allow his son to wear tights and to key into my passion speaks volumes as to the great heart he had for his children. His friends would ask, “So your son’s a ballet dancer?  Is he gay?!”  And my dad would answer, “Yup!  Just like his dad!”  He’d sock it right back at his ignorant, bigoted friends.  I admire him.

CF:  And what a dancer you’ve become.  You’ve received some amazing reviews during your career.  How do those expectations affect a dancer?

FG:  My early reviews were exciting.  Dance Magazine included me in their “25 Dancers to Watch.”  But I’ve never been comfortable with reviewers stating their opinions as fact.  Once you’re established you get less press – and today I find that wonderfully liberating.  The fact that the audiences, not critics, are loving what I’m doing is the biggest high of all.

CF: Speaking of “high” you toured Guanajuato, Mexico, right?

FG:  Yeah.  Guanajuato’s elevation is so high that we had oxygen backstage – but luckily we didn’t need it.  It’s so beautiful and artistically rich.  It was interesting because although I don’t speak Spanish fluently, I’m told I’ve got a really good accent.  So, I’d say one thing in Spanish, people would assume I’m fluent and reply in Spanish – really fast.

CF:  What do you think about the dance world’s Latino invasion?

FG:  It’s awesome.  Cultural diversity can enrich an art form, especially if it exposes more people to it.  Recently I appeared with a former Paul Taylor dancer in an alumni performance and this gentleman and I had a unique connection in how we moved.  Was it because were the only two Latinos to ever dance for Paul?  I’m not sure.  I just know that we had a special bond.  I hope we [Latinos] are bringing something different that enriches the dance community.

CF:  When you’re not wowing the audience on-stage, how do you fill your free time?

FG:  On a non-performance day, I wake up, listen to NPR, meditate, drink green tea – I’m a dancer, so I’m always hydrating.  Like always, always hydrating.  My greatest fear is that I’ll become lazy and if I don’t do something creative I can go stir crazy and feel sad because I’m not contributing. So I often go out and take photographs.  I’ve been doing it for years.

CF:  And you’re quite an accomplished photographer.  (His work can be seen at franciscograciano.com.)  What do you enjoy most about being a Paul Taylor dancer?


FG:  Paul’s work is so diverse.  He’ll take you from sliding across the stage, running like a kid playing in the rain, “roses and puppy dogs” moments — to dark, horrific and fatalistic beats.  He’s about seeing the good and the bad, holding up a mirror up to ourselves to make us reflect on our choices.  That’s the point of art and it’s what you get from Paul.

CF:  Sounds like dancing for Paul Taylor is a cathartic journey.  What’s the hardest part about being a dancer?

FG:  Unlike a painter who can paint into their 80’s or 90’s, we can’t dance forever.  I’m always going to want to dance, but one day I’m going to have to say, “I’m happy with what I’ve accomplished, but this is it.” And we don’t do this for the money.  I mean, I dance with one of the most successful dance companies and I learned today that an average intern at Google earns twice as much as I make!   That’s crazy, and they can be a Google intern into their 80’s or 90’s!

CF: I hear you’ll be in your hometown soon?

FG:  I’m so excited.  We’ll be performing at San Antonio’s Majestic Theatre on February 10, 2015 and it’s been my dream to return home and share with my community what I’ve been pursuing my whole life.

CF:  They should make it Francisco Graciano Day and give you the key to the city.

FG:  I’d settle for a key to the washroom.  Remember, I’m dancer, I’m always hydrating.

PAUL TAYLOR DANCE COMPANY: Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, 135 N. Grand Avenue, Los Angeles, CA, 90012. PERFORMANCES: Friday & Saturday April 11 & 12 at 7:30 pm; Sunday, April 13 at 2:00 pm. TICKETS: $34-$125; in person at Chandler Box Office or online at www.musiccenter.org

コメント


bottom of page