top of page

Becky G’s Cool Shooting Star Zipping Thru Super Stardom Galaxy!

Millennial Singer Is Busy Working On Two Albums, Acting, and Activism Gender Equality in Music & Her Fierce Stance on Immigration Policies Injustice

PC: Marcus&Koala, Jacket, bathing suit: The BLONDS, Earrings: Isaiah Garza Jewelry, Sunglasses: ZanZan Ortolan, Ring: Stefere Jewelry


L.A. native, Rebbeca Maria Gomez, aka Becky G, continues to keep so busy, one wonders where all that stamina is coming from! Riding on the success of her original hit song, “Shower,” which hit the top BillBoard charts when the 21-year old was just a teenager, she now is co-starring in the newest Power Rangers (she’s Trini, the Yellow Ranger), and she recently wrapped her work on the mega film, A.X.L.. In addition, Becky G is now working on two separate albums in English and in Spanish. Her newest single, with Natti Natasha, “Sin Pajama,” has already been certified Platinum.

And, all the while, being an outspoken champion for immigration rights.

During a recent photo shoot with Galore magazine, Becky G shared insight on why it is important for her to release her new album also in Spanish. “Everyone knows I started singing in English. When I think of the word cross-over, I wouldn’t necessarily say ‘I’m doing the crossover,’ but I am the crossover. The truth is, my entire life I’ve lived one foot in one world and one foot in the other,” she said. “Now, I can authentically be myself in both worlds. It is really exciting because I always say I’m the 200% – 100% proud to be Latina and 100% proud to be American.”

PC: Marcus&Koala, Hat, dress: Dsquared2, Gloves: Sermoneta, Shoes: Bernd Serafin Thaler, Earrings: House of Emmanuele.


Asked how she relates to her role in Global Road Entertainment’s, A.X.L. where she co-stars as Sara, the smart, resourceful crush of the movie’s hero, Miles (Alex Neustaedter), she said, “Excited! Sara has a little sass. I got to be a bit more creative and hands-on with this character. The film itself is action sic-fi, a little bit like Transformers meets the story of ET!”

For more details on Becky G’s role on A.X.L., read Latin Heat’s spotlight about Becky G’s co-starring role in the recently released mega hit, A.X.L,  CLICK HERE

When asked what it felt like having such a “hardcore comeback” to the music world, she holds nothing back:

“Comeback – that word. It’s funny because everyone kept saying, ‘It’s not a comeback, you never left.’ To me, it was a comeback. To me, it was the revival of my career. I was in a very dark place at the end of my English music. I didn’t really connect to my music and I felt like I wasn’t making music that was really true to who I am. The messages felt like songs that anyone could sing, because they were songs written for other artists that somehow became mine,” Becky G admitted.

I feel like I found myself in my Spanish music. I found my confidence, my sexy, and my power in my voice. I found me again. I found the woman who wanted to conquer the music industry. I lost myself in my middle teenage years. The 9-year-old Becky is living that dream of hers at 21 years old.”

Becky G admitted that she really knows who she now is as an artist. “It means a lot to me the success that I have encountered in my Spanish career, since it isn’t my first language. The fact that I can do it in a language that connects me back to my roots – it couldn’t have worked out any better. I wouldn’t change it for anything.”

The music video to “Sin Pijama” has created an internet storm. She says it’s because the video is to empower woman It also introducing a more “fun sexy side of who I am now as a young woman,” she coyly admits to her interviewer.


Becky G shared that while the “inspiration behind the song really came out of nothing,” she feels that there are not enough women in music, “let alone women in Latin music. For us to be the very few woman in reggaeton music, rapping on a song that is completely reggaeton, with not one man in sight of the music video, and not one man featured on the song, was amazing. For it be as successful as it is, I think it is definitely a moment in music and music history. It’s really awesome to be a part of it.”

The young singer-actor-activist, has been fierce in her opposition against the unjust treatment of undocumented immigrants, and immigration policies. Her voice against injustice is refreshing and brave. Why risk her platform against against someone like Trump? She does not mince words.

“As an artist, you are given a platform that comes with a responsibility to inspire people and to use your voice for the greater good. This is something that is affecting me firsthand. I am a granddaughter of grandparents who immigrated from a different country – Mexico,” she shared. “It is a huge part of my story and something I am very proud of. Without it, I wouldn’t be where I am today or have the opportunities that I have. I feel the responsibility to speak up about those issues. At the end of the day, there are two things that will forever divide people – religion and politics. It makes people feel uncomfortable – especially questioning when it is crossing the line and when is it too far.”

I feel like there is one thing that can never be wrong and that is heart. A lot of people come to the United States of America to live a better life, and they come with their heart in their hands and nothing else… I think that’s very beautiful and we should shine a positive light on it instead of focusing on the negative.

Photography: Markus&Koala

Comments


bottom of page