top of page

Actor Ernesto Reyes Talks About His Role as the Mexican Jesus on Starz’s ‘American Gods&

By Edgar Lopez

Los Angeles, CA –  For Ernesto Reyes, coming to The United States at the age of 12 was not a choice. His family had made the decision, for safety reasons, to move to Miami, Florida where Ernesto would start a new life, without leaving behind the dream of becoming an actor. He soon joined a company theatre at the Miami Dade College where he was trained by Cuban actress Teresa Rojas. He also studied on-camera technique with Martha and Hector Zavaleta.

At the age of 16, Ernesto was hired to do his first soap opera with Televisa’s Las Dos Caras de Ana starring Ana Layevska and Rafael Amaya (El Señor de los Cielos), followed by Venevision’s Amor Comprado starring with actress Elizabeth Gutierrez. Finally he appeared in Telemundo’s Corazón Valiente starring Mexican actress Adriana Fonseca and Jose Luis Resendez

Reyes was born in Barranquilla, Colombia. By age seven he already knew he wanted to be an actor, so when his stepfather would take him to work with him, at his production company, he was thrilled and knew this is what he wanted to do for the rest of his life.  One day, one of the child actors cast in a comedy show did not show up, and the casting director looked at Ernesto and decided he was right for the part.  The casting director asked his stepfather to give him a chance to do the role.  Reyes still remembers with excitement the feeling of hearing the word “acción” or action in english as his acting career began. On the set, he was no longer behind cameras observing how actors and crew members would prepare before rolling a scene, he was now in the spotlight.

Reyes not only talked to Latin Heat about his background as an actor, his experience of leaving his hometown for safety reasons at the age of 12, his work in Miami and his arrival to L.A, where he most recently got the part of the Mexican Jesus in the television series American Gods (Starz), he also shared his point of view on immigration and talked about the inclusion, and stereotypes of Latinos in Hollywood.

Ernesto Reyes as the Mexican Jesus in ‘American Gods’


American Gods is an American television series based on the novel of the same name, written by Neil Gaiman. It is directed by Adam Kane (Daredevil,Supergirl) and it was developed by Bryan Fuller and Michael Green for the cable network Starz.

The controversial scene with Reyes as the Mexican Jesus, appears in episode six, season one. His character walks on water, after hearing the desperate voices of a group of immigrants trying to save their lives while crossing the Rio Grande. After he gets to the other side of the border, he is gun down by American militiamen. The scene had very positive reviews from the audience.

The series focuses on Shadow Moon, who meets a strange man named Mr. Wednesday after being released from prison, and soon becomes embroiled in a large-scale conflict between the Old Gods and the New Gods, who grow stronger each day. The first season originally ran on Starz network and streaming service from April to June 2017. In May 2017, the series was renewed for a second season.

Latin Heat: Ernesto, you had many job offerings as an actor in a Spanish-speaking market, in theatre and television, why did you decide to come to L.A?

Ernesto Reyes: For me, preparing my self is not a choice. I think that in this business you have to be constantly preparing. Before coming here (to L.A) I kept receiving many offers to work in theatre and television but there was a moment when I said to my self, ‘Ok, either I stay here in Miami or I take this moment and move to the next level’. I wanted to step out of my comfort zone. Once in Los Angeles, I started taking classes at the Stella Adler Academy of Acting where I ended up earning a scholarship.

LH: Tell us about the process you went through before and after auditioning for the role of the Mexican Jesus.

Actor Ernesto Reyes/Photo credit: Duvier Poviones


ER: I am a strong believer. Jesus has played a very important role in my life since I was little. Back in Colombia, my grandmother used to take me to traditional processions in my neigborhood and she dressed me up as little Jesus. I have always felt his presence in my heart.

One day, I received an invitation to do the audition to play the role of Jesus, a Mexican Jesus. I went to the audition but I did not know very much about what I was getting myself into. I did not know what American Gods was about. However I liked the idea of playing Jesus because, you know, I felt very connected with this character.

I was really impressed at the casting director’s office, she made me improvise with 5 or 6 different scenes. The funny thing about this whole process is that on Halloween last year I dressed up like Jesus, I used a red table cloth, a beard, a wig and a white robe because I did not know what to wear, so I improvised it (he laughs). I don’t believe in coincidences.

LH: Where did you shoot your scene of the river?

ER: We went to Toronto, Canada to shoot the scene. It was a mesmerizing experience, they made me feel so special. When I entered my hotel room, there were gifts and a welcome letter from the production, it kind of felt like all the moments and all the things I have been waiting for in the past were just there. Coming back to the scene process, it took place in a very isolated place in Toronto, we started shooting at 2 in the morning at a real lake where they installed a boardwalk under the water so I could walk above it. They had to take me on a boat so I can walk from there, there was not other way (He laughs). After they left me on the platform I could contemplate the sky and the stars, it was so special.

LH: What does this character represent to you and what is the message for many of the Latino and non-Latino audicence?

ER: By playing a Latino character, a Mexican Jesus, was a big responsibility for me, for a moment I felt like I was the voice of so many immigrants in this country and how much of humans we all are that no matter where we come from, we are still humans trying to look for a better life, so compassion was really there for me to play this role and to understand it, especially back then when Trump had not been elected and nobody knew how these things were going to turn into. It was shocking to see all these groups of immigrants, specially kids, running away from the armed men and then shot down, and there is Jesus trying to save these men and women. It is funny how these people with power use the name of God to harm others. The message is powerful.


LH: What do you think about the inclusion of Latinos in the industry and what is needed to grow?

ER: I think that many of the producers and directors in Hollywood are opening their eyes, they are looking to the sides and they are seeing how much Latinos are bringing to this whole community not only in the entertainment industry but to the whole world, because we are very hardworking people and always willing to help others. I think we need patience and also keep preparing ourselves. Most of the latinos actors are known for only doing soap operas and that is a barrier we should break , so that is why training and a good attitude are so important. That would be my advice to those who want to work in this tough industry. What I like the most about this TV series is the fact that they could put a Latino hero, even when this hero was shot down and dies, he resurrects in the next episode, as the real Jesus. I love the opportunity they gave me in such a great production.

LH: Who are your favorite actors?

ER: For some reason I am very connected to actresses, and one of my favorite actresses is Viola Davis. What I like about her is that she is a great communicator and I admire all her work. Jessica Lange is another actress I admire too. One of my favorite male actors is Tom Hanks.

LH: What does Ernesto like to do in his free time?

ER: I love music, I live with music. I spent all the time listening to music, speciallly here in L.A when I go out to walk or while I am on uber on my way to auditions or meetings. I consider myself a very romantic person. I love Adele because she sings from the heart. I love Shakira, she is one of my favorite singers as well.

LH: What advice would you give to many young actors?

ER: I would tell them to be kind with themselves, to have compassion with themselves. Sometimes we are too hard with ourselves. It is very important to love yourself. To live and enjoy everything that is in front of you. Many times we forget to live our own lives. Many actors are so desperately waiting for their next gig, the next audition or something else and they forget what is in front of us. I think that by cultivating those values will help us even on the auditions. Don’t worry too much about your process because the universe is already taking care of that process. In the meantime we have to live.

Ernesto is an emerging actor who is living in the moment and is focused on his craft, which he considers something that have to be loved and respected by all the young actors.

Reyes also told Latin Heat that he is willing and open to share his gift with the rest of the world, doesn’t matter if it is in English or Spanish.  He would work either in  soap operas or movies. However, for him, it would be hard to choose between one of those.  He agrees that as an actor you have to share your talent in order to help the movement  that wakes humanity up. Reyes also told Latin Heat that one of his dreams is to work with Colombian actress Margarita Rosa de Francisco. 

He is repped by Green & Green Talent Group and Hartman Entertainment

Comments


bottom of page